Are You Doing What You Love + A Life Purpose Exercise

Are you doing what you love for a living?  Are you 100% sure you’re doing what you’re passionate about, or are you unsure of what your purpose is?

I’d been an established entrepreneur for nearly two years when out of the blue I felt an overwhelming need to change the direction of my business.  I was unhappy, felt drained and I couldn’t figure out why.  I decided the best thing to do was to relax.  So, I laid down on the couch, propped a couple of pillows behind my head and thought about my life and where I was with my business, when I fell asleep.  When I woke up, all of the business services I was offering were going through my mind.  I realized right then that my unhappiness had to do with what I was in business for.  I knew I needed to talk with a good friend, so I called and asked her to meet me at a nearby park for a heart to heart.

I’ve known since I became self-employed that I was supposed to be excited, have fun and feel a rush when I woke up every morning about my business, and I did at first.  I now know that feeling was the anticipation of being self-employed. When I created my business, I was very excited to be my own boss, the services I was going to offer was everything that I had experience in.  What I didn’t realize was that I was so caught up in trying to be everything to everyone just as I had been when I was an employee, that I didn’t consider what I was happiest doing.  In retrospect, I can say I was doing the best that I could at the time and without a doubt I wasn’t really sure what I was passionate about.

I know for certain that I am going in the right direction now.  I feel differently and it’s very evident when I’m talking with potential clients.  I’m focused; I feel a wave of excitement and passion.  My personal mission statement in part includes, “to uplift and encourage people with my inspiration and creativity”, it’s clear that with this new direction I am doing exactly that.

Do we forfeit what we love to do for fear that we won’t be successful or that we aren’t good enough at what we love do to get paid to do it?  What most of us lack, is recognizing a way to focus our thoughts to find out what we are here for. We all know deep inside what we want to do, all we have to do is relax and listen to our instincts and think about what we feel most passionate about.  Is there something that you do or have done for free that you wish you could get paid to do?

To help you uncover your passion, I thought I would share this excerpt from Jack Canfield’s, The Success Principles, with you.  Once you complete this exercise, your task is to write your achievable goals in detail, and then create affirmations as though you have already achieved them.  Successful Olympic athletes use these techniques to achieve their goals.  Take a moment to move your dream forward, this will change your life and your focus once you begin this process.

The Life Purpose Exercise

1.  List two of your unique personal qualities, such as enthusiasm and creativity.

________________________________      ___________________________

2. List one or two ways you enjoy expressing those qualities when interacting with others, such as to support or to inspire.

______________________________      _____________________________

3.  Assume the world is perfect right now. What does this world look like?  How is everyone interacting with everyone else? What does it feel like?  Write your answer as a statement, in the present tense, describing the ultimate condition, the perfect world as you see it and feel it. Remember, a perfect world is a fun place to be.

Example: Everyone is freely expressing their own unique talents.  Everyone is working in harmony.  Everyone is expressing love.

__________________________________________________

__________________________________________________

__________________________________________________

__________________________________________________

4.  Combine the three prior subdivisions of this paragraph into a single statement.

Example: My purpose is to use my creativity and enthusiasm to support and inspire others to freely express their talents in a harmonious and loving way.

__________________________________________________

__________________________________________________

__________________________________________________

__________________________________________________

Once you’ve determined your life purpose and written it down (3×5 cards are perfect so you can put them in a visible place), read it every day, preferably in the morning, mid-day and before you go to sleep.  If you’re artistic or visual, you may want to draw pictures or use photographs and then display them somewhere prominent where you’ll see them every day.

You’re The Best©

This entry was posted in Being an Entrepreneur, Business, Inspiration, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

